Home Open Account Help 244 users online

Passenger Trains > Can a Train Break Even Financially?

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 05/13/19 19:40
Can a Train Break Even Financially?
Author: johnambrose

I’m not an expert on these matters but if we take a typical long distance passenger train i.e. the Empire Builder, CZ, SW Chief, etc. the figures say they lose money.
Assuming full occupancy isn’t an issue just how long would these trains have to be to make a profit?
I guess what I’m asking is if for an example the Chief ran with say 5 full sleepers and 10 fully occupied coaches are we turning a profit after all costs are deducted?

Posted from iPhone

Date: 05/13/19 20:29
Re: Can a Train Break Even Financially?
Author: dan

cost of capital, up keep  for the 15 cars is huge

Date: 05/13/19 20:47
Author: abyler

johnambrose Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I’m not an expert on these matters but if we
> take a typical long distance passenger train i.e.
> the Empire Builder, CZ, SW Chief, etc. the figures
> say they lose money.
> Assuming full occupancy isn’t an issue just
> how long would these trains have to be to make a
> profit?
> I guess what I’m asking is if for an example
> the Chief ran with say 5 full sleepers and 10
> fully occupied coaches are we turning a profit
> after all costs are deducted?

This makes the assumption that moving a car full of people at today's fares AND SPEEDS could actually turn a profit.

What many people don't consider is that a big part of the problem is the speeds, not the capacity.

It might not matter how many cars the train has, as it is quite possible that no matter how many cars are hauled, they will all lose money if they go too slow.