Home Open Account Help 235 users online

Passenger Trains > Photographs of LIRR M3s on Borrowed Time

Date: 06/16/19 10:01
Photographs of LIRR M3s on Borrowed Time
Author: Passfanatic

Even though the date of the M9s entering revenue service have been pushed back, that would give me some more time to photograph the LIRR M3s before they are retired. I have been doing that for a few months. Here is the first group of pictures, all taken on 4/29/19: 1. Babylon Bound train bypassing Woodside Station 2. Westbound on the Main Line passing Bellerose, NY Station 3. The same consist in photograph two heading away from me toward its next stop at Jamaica, Queens.

Date: 06/16/19 10:05
Re: Photographs of LIRR M3s on Borrowed Time

4. Westbound Hempstead Line train heading to NYC approaching Bellerose Station.
5. M3 # 9804 brings up the rear of its consist as it departs Bellerose Station heading west.
6. Eastbound M3 Set deadheading back to a yard on Long Island.

Date: 06/16/19 10:05
Author: joemvcnj

The MDBF of the Metro North ones are quadruple that of the LIRR's.
The Budd designed M-1 to M-6 is a better looking car than the M-7 to M-9.

Date: 06/16/19 10:11

7. Westbound M3 Set passing Floral Park Station heading to New York Penn Station
8. Eastbound Huntington bound M3 Set departing Mineola Station. On the left of the photograph is Nassau Tower which might not be around forever as part of the Main Line 3rd Track project between Floral Park and Hicksville. The grade crossing where I took this photograph from, Main Street, is also going to be eliminated along with the other grade crossings between Floral Park and Hicksville.

Date: 06/16/19 10:21

On 5/7/19, I decided to search for M3s on the Pt. Washington Line and did very well. Here is a list of pictures.
1. LIRR Train # 410 arrives into Flushing Main Street Station bound for Pt. Washington.
2. LIRR Train # 412 approaches Douglaston Station bound for Pt. Washington with a 12 car M3 set.