Home Open Account Help 231 users online

Passenger Trains > San Luis Obispo, 50yrs Later

Date: 06/29/20 20:40
San Luis Obispo, 50yrs Later
Author: BoilingMan

I graduated from High School 50yrs ago- Bishop Garcia Diego Catholic High, Class of '70, Santa Barbara.  If you've followed some of my exploits here on TO, some of them involved an old friend from BGDHS, Deb Kay.  She was along when I struck out into the desert in search of the Epson Salt Monorail, and before that, fresh out of HS, we hopped an SP freight one night out of Santa Barbara to SLO (seriously short of cash, we stole away on a Greyhound bus to get home- a story in itself). 
Deb text me this morning- she was on board #11 out of San Jose.  By pure coincidence, I'm aboard #14.
So as our trains passed in SLO, we popped open the windows for a quick pic in honor of that freight ride in this same spot so many years ago... 
Hey Deb, look'n good!
SR

Date: 06/29/20 20:54
Re: San Luis Obispo, 50yrs Later
Author: trainjunkie

Ha! That's pretty darned cool.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/20 20:54 by trainjunkie.

Date: 06/29/20 21:07
Author: GoldenState

Pretty cool!
As I type, she just left Glendale toward LAUPT and you just passed Newark where I was a half hour ago swimming at my inlaws. They are roughly five houses off MP 28 on the Mini Coast.
Rob
Fremont, CA
CP FO30

Date: 06/29/20 21:12

Yes, we’re on the Mulford. I’m off at Oakland (on #6 tomorrow), and Deb was off at Santa Barbara.
SR

Date: 06/29/20 21:26
Author: chrisparker

Great Story. Fun Stuff.

Glad your back posting.

Chris

Posted from Android

Date: 06/29/20 22:09
Author: mundo

A small world indeed

Date: 06/29/20 23:34

chrisparker Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Great Story. Fun Stuff.
>
> Glad your back posting.
>
> Chris
>
> Posted from Android

I’m returning home from my crewing to return a catamaran from Loreto, BCS to Sa Pedro- a 1200mi passage. It took us 26 days. (They call it The Bash)