Home Open Account Help 292 users online

Railfan Trip Reports > Railfanning Without A Camera

Date: 10/23/07 03:39
Railfanning Without A Camera
Author: Narr8rdanny

I was planning to go railfanning on Sunday after doing some errands but the weather was icky and I realized I didn't have my camera with me anyway.

Then it occurred to me: Do I HAVE to have my camera to enjoy railfanning? What happened to the days when I would go sit by the tracks with nothing but a radio and a coke and just enjoy the sensation of the trains, the outdoors and the solitude? In my early trainwatching career I had many, many camera-less outings just exploring and watching.

I wonder how many of us, me included, started bringing a camera along to "legitimize" an otherwise strange and unusual hobby?

"You mean you're just standing here waiting for a train to come by?"
"Why, no sir!. I'm a RAIL PHOTOGRAPHER!"

As if there's something wrong in doing the same exact thing as someone who brings a blanket to the beach, spreads it out on the sand, sits on it and stares out at the sunset, then leaves when it's over.

I agree that a camera really is a good thing to have along at all times, just in case "ole 618" or some such slips up on me by surprise. But must I be "A Photographer" to be a true railfan? I have spent countless weekends at Folkston when I never pulled the camera out of the Expedition. The radio, a lawnchair and an icebox my only railfanning tools.

I think I'm going to try this again soon. And if by chance "Ole 618" does come by, you'll just have to take my word for it. I'm enjoying the sensation of real trainwatching.

Regards,
Danny Harmon
Tampa

Date: 10/23/07 11:00
Re: Railfanning Without A Camera
Author: NormSchultze

Railfanning without a camera is, to me, like hunting without a camera. Its the hunt. The capture. Thats the fun of it. I also "hunt" B-17s. Only one flyer has eluded me and my lens. One day I'll get the shot.

Date: 10/23/07 12:05
Author: mebuscher