Home Open Account Help 302 users online

International Railroad Discussion > McDonald's with a View (Japan)

Date: 12/02/18 22:34
McDonald's with a View (Japan)
Author: cchan006

I've been eyeing this location for about 4 years now.

I started visiting Japan regularly as a railfan about 4 years ago, and as a JR Rail Pass user, I'd often ride Shinkansen trains north from Tokyo to start the day's adventure. Whenever I'd sit on the "A" window side (east), I'd notice people sitting on the counter eating food in a second floor of a multi-story office building, morning and night.

They were eating inside a McDonald's! If I could see them, it was obvious they could see the train I was riding, and with a good angle to view.

Even though I visit this specific area every time I'm in Tokyo, I didn't have any motivation to eat at this particular McDonald's, since the restaurant chain had not been part of my Japan "food tourism" going back several decades. For now, I won't mention this area, but it's pretty easy to figure out once you see the images and videos I'm posting.

Things changed during my recent trip to Japan, where I HAD TO visit a McDonald's. While walking around in a Tokyo suburb one morning, I walked by a McDonald's and noticed their Happy Meal promotion - train toys! The promotion had just started, but Happy Set (Japanese name for the Happy Meal) was not available until 10:30 am. I already had a railfan mission that day (Chichibu Railway), so I continued toward my destination, found a nearby McDonald's past 10:30 am, grabbed a Happy Set, and hurried back to the train station to continue my mission.

- Image from McDonald's Japan, of their "Pla-Rail" promotion. The toys I got were from the promotions on the left. From the top, C56 steam, Fujikyu Railway's Type 8500, Shinkansen Type 500, and Doctor Yellow.