Home Open Account Help 321 users online

Railfan Technology > Nikon Super Coolscan 5000 with Mac OSX....help!

Date: 01/19/08 18:46
Nikon Super Coolscan 5000 with Mac OSX....help!
Author: jbwest

Are any readers here running a Nikon Super Coolscan 5000 with Mac Panther. Santa brought me a Coolscan and I attached it to my Mac G4 desktop with Panther OS per the instructions using their proprietary Nikon Scan softward. Lotsa problems. When it works, it works great, but it often goes into various error modes. Everytime I think I have it figured out, a new error message crops up.
Curious if anyone out here in cyber land has any advice.

The Coolscan is the eventual replacement for my Polaroid Sprintscan 4000 that I have been using for about six years. Two comments. One, assuming I can get the Coolscan working reliably, it is a great machine. The dual sensors really decrease scanning time, although in a lot of situations nowhere near as fast as Nikon claims. Two, in comparing scans from both machines, the old Polaroid looks to be about as good as the Nikon, albeit very slow. The problem, and this is one of the things I hate about today's throw away hardware, is the Polaroid has dust on the sensor and it was not designed to be cleaned. I have heard of ways to clean the sensor, but it involves far more work than I feel technically capable of....and to pay someone to do it is about as expensive as replacing it. Plus I get a USB2 machine instead of an ancient technology SCSI machine.

Any advice will be appreciated.

John West

Date: 01/20/08 09:51
Re: Nikon Super Coolscan 5000 with Mac OSX....help!
Author: trainjunkie

John,