Home Open Account Help 312 users online

Railfan Technology > Color Printer and Scanner Help

Date: 10/25/16 21:35
Color Printer and Scanner Help
Author: plowboy

I hope I am posting this on the correct discussion forum.  I know that many of you scan photos and place them on here. Years ago I took many 35mm color prints of railroads, family, etc. I have most of the negatives and some prints and I am wanting to scan them and convert to electronic files and maybe print some. I am looking for suggestions on decent scanners-color printer combinations that are fairly simple to use and won't break the bank. I am not a professional, just would like decent scans. I also need a photo editing software that doesnt take a degree in computer science to operate.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

RLR

Date: 10/26/16 03:34
Re: Color Printer and Scanner Help
Author: kgmontreal

Very inexpensive scanners do not give good results.  A decent scanner will cost you about $300 and up.  Epson makes some flatbed scanners that give surprisingly good slide and negative scans.  Epson's software is good.  But the best software is VueScan which costs another $100.

I can't offer suggestions about color printers.

KG

Date: 10/26/16 05:16
Author: robj

kgmontreal Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Very inexpensive scanners do not give good
> results.  A decent scanner will cost you about
> $300 and up.  Epson makes some flatbed scanners
> that give surprisingly good slide and negative
> scans.  Epson's software is good.  But the best
> software is VueScan which costs another $100.
>
> I can't offer suggestions about color printers.
>
> KG

I agree on scanning, I have a Epson but just use the std software,  printers cover a wide range and depending on how many you want, using a prinitng lab might be the best.

Bob

Date: 10/27/16 19:02
Author: plowboy

Thank you for your advice and information. I will look at Epson Scanners. Thanks again

RLR