Home Open Account Help 139 users online

Railfan Technology > Nikon help please

Date: 12/07/17 15:39
Nikon help please
Author: hartrick24

Hi all, this is my first time posting on railfan tech. I sold my D50 body not long ago it was bought in 2005. I now have a D3100 and not knowing tried to put the old 70--300
lens from the D50 on it thinking it would be compatible. And that was a big no, My question is how do I go about buying a new lens at a decent price that would work? I don't know
how to check for one that fits or not.

Thanks for any help...

Steve H.

Date: 12/07/17 16:35
Re: Nikon help please
Author: trainjunkie

The D50 had a focus motor built into the body. The D3100 does not. I'm assuming the 70-300 lens you have is a G model, which has no focus motor built-in to the lens, and depended on the body motor to drive it, which your 3100 does not have. Your lens is compatible with your D3100, but you have to manually focus it.

What you need for the 3100 to use auto focus are any of Nikon's DX format AF-S lenses, which have a built-in "silent wave" focus motor.

http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d3100/compatibility02.htm

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/07/17 16:46 by trainjunkie.

Date: 12/07/17 17:12

The D3100 does not have a motor, so do I need a 70-300 AF-S ?

Steve H

Date: 12/07/17 17:43
Author: trainjunkie

70-300 AF-S is fully compatible.

Date: 12/07/17 17:51

trainjunkie Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> 70-300 AF-S is fully compatible.

Thank you so much Mr. trainjunkie you have helped so much. Now I just have to find a new one at a decent price...

Steve H...

Date: 12/07/17 18:35
Author: CBRL

There are a few versions of that lens but the best one is the Nikon - AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED Telephoto Zoom Lens. Around $300 last time I checked on ebay.

Tom Trent
Eugene, OR

Date: 12/07/17 20:23
Author: LiveWire2