Home Open Account Help 232 users online

Railfan Technology > Nikon D850

Date: 05/20/18 15:37
Nikon D850
Author: CSX4838

I am thinking about upgrading to a Nikon D850. I was looking for imput from someone that has one. I have been using a D800 since they came out a few years ago. Thanks

Date: 05/21/18 04:41
Re: Nikon D850
Author: birdman

Thom Hogan is the definitive expert on all things Nikon. Suggest you visit his website and read his extensive review at bythom.com

Date: 05/21/18 10:36
Author: kgmontreal

Great camera. But make sure its RAW files are compatible with your photo editing software.

KG

Date: 05/21/18 16:38
Author: robj

Think it depends what you are using for. It hi-res, fast fps and big file sizes. I look at those as overkill for trains stuff. If you are shooting wildlife or doing some serious landscape that would be different. You want your computer and software to be up to date.

I use a D750 which I know is a little old, I have mine since they came out.

Reasonable file size, great for low light and half the price.

Bob

Date: 05/21/18 22:54
Author: exhaustED

Have to confess, my first thought about the 850 for railroad photography was 'overkill'. All that resolution and associated big file sizes...plus cost...but why?

Date: 05/22/18 11:57
Author: lilwes

I've been using the D610 for the last 2.5 years and I'm so very pleased with it. File size is not overwhelming and picture quality is very sharp and clear. I use prime lens' when I can and everything just gets better with them. You can get the body, new, for less than half the price of an 850.
Wes

Wes Chiles
Topeka, KS

Date: 05/22/18 14:01
Author: SOUCF25

Look at Ken Rockwell's site on Nikon. www.kenrockwell.com

Date: 05/23/18 11:35
Author: fbe