Home Open Account Help 276 users online

Railfan Technology > Indexing your slides/ scans

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 12/06/19 14:31
Indexing your slides/ scans
Author: Matt_Gidley

I'm still new to slide collecting but Ive gotten ebough that I'm thinking about how to start a database to keep track and search for things.  Are there database programs or Apps that would be good for entering slide info or for digital scans, linking to the scan?  I'd like to be able to search for a particular engine type or road number and see what I have.  (So I dont keep buying the same slide on ebay- ha!) 

How do you all keep track of your collections and find things you want to see?

Date: 12/06/19 17:23
Re: Indexing your slides/ scans
Author: trainjunkie

I just use a spreadsheet.

Date: 12/06/19 19:32
Author: twjurgens

I agree with trainjunkie, a spreadsheet works fine.  Put whatever info you want to collect (RR, engine # or subject, location, date, and whatever else you think you might want to search by) in separate columns.

Date: 12/06/19 20:03
Author: lapklub

Also you could file by alphanumeric by railroad or go by date taken, or both.  I filed mine by railroad and number (alphanumeric) for years for my personal collection, but the extras I store them in the order that I shot them. 
I number each roll as I shot them in order so I know when they were.  Also I kept good notes as to when and where shots were taken.  Plus I was very strict on myself to label slides soon after I got them back from processing. 
At least get a date on them.  If need be IF YOU KEPT GOOD NOTES you could finish labeling later.  You've got to have good notes though.  My early early years I didn't keep real good notes but did keep slides in fairly decent order. 
Also keep your notebooks together.  I used to use those 4x6 pocket size notebooks.  I have quite a few of them.  And also date them and keep them in order in someplace accessible.