Home Open Account Help 292 users online

Railfan Technology > Good basic scanner

Date: 04/05/20 09:51
Good basic scanner
Author: mustrev

I'm new to railfanning and would like to know any recommedations for a basic or entry level radio scanner.  Suggestions?  What are the minimum requirements to be effective?

Date: 04/05/20 11:40
Re: Good basic scanner
Author: cchan006

mustrev Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm new to railfanning and would like to know any
> recommedations for a basic or entry level radio
> scanner.  Suggestions?  What are the minimum
> requirements to be effective?

This is a common question, and there are knowledgeable TO members who'll provide info, including links from past discussions which should address this issue.

I bought an entry level scanner more than 10 years ago, and I still use the same setup to this day, with aftermarket antennas to improve reception (one for the scanner, and another to magnetically attach on the car), which I bought just months afterwards.

If you are the type of railfan who likes to stay at one spot, you might consider a setup for better reception and signal selectivity, Receiving radio chatter from far away is good for reducing anxiety while waiting for trains to show up. For some people, they are interested in radio chatter only, staying at home and just listening, and having a good setup (more expensive) is worthwhile.

I stuck with my cheap setup because I chase way more than I stay, which means I'm focused on nearby trains that I want to hunt down, and my setup is "good enough" to pick up the relevant radio chatter nearby, including "chirps" from FRED/EOTD (End of Train Device). When railfanning, I'm usually moving around.