Home Open Account Help 292 users online

Railfan Technology > New User-Uniden SDS 200 Requests A Little Help - San Jose CA

Date: 05/25/20 18:01
New User-Uniden SDS 200 Requests A Little Help - San Jose CA
Author: norm1153

Despite that I'm a ham radio operator, website designer et al., I cannot for the life of me figure this scanner out.  I've downloaded Sentinel and ProScan.  I've tried programming from the manual to the scanner directly.
For simplicity as a beginning, I would only like to enter ONE Favorite, to include Caltrain (SF Peninsula to San Jose).  If it is not too complicated, could someone give me explicit directions (i.e., press this, press that, press Enter, etc.) but not any attempt to explain what happens, as I will attempt to absorb that, as I go along doing it.  Any method - Scanner, Sentinal, or ProScan.  After doing it, I "think" I can deduce how it happened, and what each step did.  I get that scanners have moved to a new method of programming, and boy, that's the rub for me! Wow. 
I profusely thank anyone who replies in advance!
Norm

Date: 05/26/20 08:04
Re: New User-Uniden SDS 200 Requests A Little Help - San Jose CA
Author: walstib

Ha, all I can say is good luck, and I say that as someone in the same boat you’re in.

I bought the hand-held version of that radio, the 100, in January to replace a radio stolen in a December car burglary.

I managed to get a couple of RR frequencies entered at first, although I couldn’t tell you off the top of my head how I did it. (Other than reading the part of the manual for that.)

The guy at Ham Radio Outlet in Burbank pointed me toward a program called ARC536, which is written by an outfit named BuTel. They’re somewhere overseas. I’m not sure how it compares to the programs you mentioned, but it seemed pretty basic. I plan to use it to program my radio when I get around to it. ARC536 has a free 30-day trial, so you can give it a spin.