Home Open Account Help 243 users online

Railfan Technology > Anyone noticing - Radio usage down

Date: 10/17/20 10:08
Anyone noticing - Radio usage down
Author: skyview

So I have been using scanners and listening to railroads since 1972 or so, when I found the transmission on a channel master tuneable radio.  I progressed through crystal scanners to programmable scanners, even having NXDN radio now.  Thus, Ive spent many years listening and still do.

That said, over the last decade radio communications are decreasing, and was totally accented a several weeks ago while spending an afternoon near North Platte then 2 1/2 days on BNSF coal lines.  In those areas, detectors have been (assumption since never heard a peep) have been silenced to defect only, much slow order/instructions was being sent via computer (heard the dispatcher refer to it, do you see "x" on your screens) and traffic to and form M of W was minimal.  About all that was left was some sort of problem or exception that was communicated.  Thus, far less traffic on the radio than a decade ago, heck even a couple of yeras ago even.  Was the radio helpful, sure  a little, but no where near what  it was in the past. 

Here on the Joint Line in Colorado the detectors still talk, and trains do chat more to the dispatcher than what I observed in NE, but it probably wont be long before the detectors are defect only.  Overall, radio traffic is down here to, with less on the radio than years past.

I guess that my title is wrong, RF usage is up, way more communications going on, just the traditional chat on the 160-161MHz freqs is down!

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 10/17/20 13:21 by skyview.

Date: 10/17/20 10:13
Re: Anyone noticing - Radio usage down
Author: dan

A lot of modern changes augment the radio

Date: 10/17/20 13:04
Author: TCnR