Home Open Account Help 302 users online

Railfan Technology > BC-125AT Antenna recommendations

Date: 04/07/21 10:02
BC-125AT Antenna recommendations
Author: tracktime

Hello All,
I recently purchased a Bearcat BC-125AT for field use while railfanning. 

I hear that the Smiley rubber ducky antennas are good, but they have multiple styles optimized for 160Mhz  - a "stubby" one vs. a "mini" one, vs. a traditional longer "slim duck" style and even more:  

https://www.smileyantenna.com/category-s/1513.htm

I would welcome any good recommendations for an aftermarket "rubber-ducky" style antenna for this scanner.

Thanks!

Date: 04/07/21 11:14
Re: BC-125AT Antenna recommendations
Author: colehour

Just a guess, given that I am no expert, but wouldn't choosing the one with the most stated gain offer the best reception? I am assuming that the antennas would all be tuned for optimum reception on the RR frequencies.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/07/21 11:15 by colehour.

Date: 04/07/21 13:20
Author: seod

The Smiley antennas are very good but I like the MFJ 1717 better MFJ-1717, HT ANTENNA, BNC, DUAL BAND, FLEXIBLE DUCK | MFJ Enterprises Inc The only problem is its size it ia about 16" long and it does flop around a bit but the reception is better than the Smiley. Comet also makes a similar antenna called the BNC- 24. I assume that the radio has a BNC connector. The radio I use uses a SMA mount.

Scott O'Dell

Date: 04/07/21 14:47
Author: TCnR

The highest 'gain' antenna often 'detunes' the front end of the radio and lets in nearby high power channels / frequencies that have all sorts of odd audio noises. The industrial style radios and well built HAM radios are less likely to have this problem but it can still happen. Many folks stick with a quater wave antenna for simplicity, a 5/8 wave with 3dB gain is nice but often gives trouble.