Home Open Account Help 228 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Could UP build a new line to connect ex Rio Grande?

Date: 07/28/07 08:10
Could UP build a new line to connect ex Rio Grande?
Author: trn75

Could UP connect the old Rio Grande Craig branch in Colorado to it's mainline in southern Wyoming? Would save money with all the maintanence on the Moffat Sub.

Date: 07/28/07 09:02
Re: Could UP build a new line to connect ex Rio Grande?
Author: czephyr17

I'm no expert on this area, but I seem to recall reading about a proposal to do this a number of years back. Other than cost, I am not sure if there were any other obstacles.

Date: 07/28/07 09:02
Author: KoloradoKid

There was study done on this in the 80s, when the oil boom was on in Western Colorado. Oil combined with coal had UP thinking of dropping into the Craig area. That boom died and UP must have quietly shelved the idea. It would have cost $150M at least back then. Would they do it now, I doubt it. They need the capital in other areas and they have a perfectly good line into the area. Even if it does have a pinch point (Moffat Tunnel), its far cheaper to operate than building a $200M+ new line to serve two active coal mines. Yes, there is some oil/gas business now, but it isn't anything like, say, the PRB. So, could they do it, yes. Will they, no.

KK

Date: 07/28/07 09:07
Author: NDHolmes