Home Open Account Help 351 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Digital camera question

Date: 07/05/02 14:45
Digital camera question
Author: winks

I am considering purchasing a digital camera. I was thinking of a Canon G2. Any comments on this model, or any other type for that matter. I have been into photography for 40 years so I don't feel I'm a novice, but I have a lot to learn.

Use for RR and vacation pictures, and will download into Dell Picture Studio.

Any comments are appreciated.

Thanks, hope everyone had a good 4th.

winks
Jim Winkler

Date: 07/05/02 16:33
Re: Digital camera question
Author: tunnelmotor1

well buying a camera is like buying a car (personal taste) so many models to pick from, bottom line is how much money $$$ do you want to spend,
Im in the market to up grade from my 1.2 mp digital camera to a 5.0 mp... this camera takes "awesom" pictures!!! it's here on e-bay

""good luck""
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1364339567

Date: 07/05/02 17:31
Tom, great web site
Author: winks

Thanks

Date: 07/05/02 17:58
Re: Tom, great web site
Author: up833

Look at the Nikon 995. I like mine and for me..I see no need for the 5 megpixl capability as I dont go larger than a 8x10 print. Prefer the telephoto lens capability but not so much as the 10x on a couple models.
good advice from others above..good luck
Roger

Date: 07/05/02 18:43
Re: Tom, great web site
Author: pacificeclectic

FWIW, I've been thinking of the Minolta s404. partly because I'm a Minolta fan and my 35mm gear is Minolta and partly because it's reviews show some faster timing than others which may be handy shooting moving trains.