Home Open Account Help 366 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > UP - Operation Lifesaver Train On Greeley Sub

Date: 04/17/13 22:29
UP - Operation Lifesaver Train On Greeley Sub
Author: mojaveflyer

The UP / Operation Lifesaver special that has operated in the west for the last few weeks made it's way to Colorado this week. It started running several moves out of Grand Junction on Monday, out of Glenwood Springs on Tuesday and on the Greeley Sub north of Denver today. It made four round trips, two out of Ft Lupton this morning to Lasalle and two out of Greeley this afternoon to Nunn and back to end the day. Since I worked as a presenter on the train I wasn't able to get many shots of the train until the end of the last trip late this afternoon when the train unloaded it's passengers at the Greeley Depot and the Operation Lifesaver presenters cleaned the train prior to it's departure. I understand it was to run to Cheyenne and then return to Omaha to end this trip. The first two shots were the opposite ends of the train as it sat in the Greeley Depot. No one was able to explain whey they assigned three SD-70Ms to power this train. The last shot was taken as we sat on the main at Nunn waiting for the ZLADV to run around us before we started back to Greeley. There was a fairly stiff north wind blowing and everything seemed to be coated in ice when I looked across Hwy 85 in Nunn towards the residential area and thought the back lighting was interesting.

Despite cold weather and the train running late due to a late arrival in Denver from the Moffat Sub, the crowds were very appreciative and patient, as well as receptive to the Operation Lifesaver message.

Thanks for looking!

Date: 04/17/13 23:03
Re: UP - Operation Lifesaver Train On Greeley Sub
Author: NH2006

Wow, it did make it! I thought it would not run.

Date: 04/18/13 00:11
Author: trb