Home Open Account Help 178 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Inert gas in a tank car

Date: 05/28/13 14:28
Inert gas in a tank car
Author: john1082

The ethanol cars that shuttle between the midwest and California are traveling empty 1/2 the time. Having contained a flammable, would the interior of the car still contain explosive gas after unloading? Are the cars ventilated prior to the return deadhead? Is an inert gas used to prevent ignition as is done aboard some aircraft?

John Gezelius
Tustin, CA

Date: 05/28/13 15:09
Re: Inert gas in a tank car
Author: moltensulphur

As a former tankship operator I can assure you that the environment inside an empty ethanol tank car is extremely volatile. And no the railroads are not required to inert the empty tankers.

Date: 05/28/13 16:23
Author: CDTX

The only vent to my knowledge on your standard tank car while traveling is an safety/over pressure valve up top.

Jeff

Date: 05/28/13 17:07
Author: toledopatch

Is ethanol "vapor" volatile? I know gasoline's is, but without better information I don't know that a similar issue exists with corn juice, even if there is residual amount of product in the car after unloading.

Just because something burns does not mean that it, or its vapor, explodes.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/28/13 17:08 by toledopatch.

Date: 05/28/13 17:21
Author: moltensulphur

Google "ethanol vapor".

Date: 05/28/13 17:32
Author: NSDTK

From watching Ethanol Tank Car unloaded while I waited to switch them- The Air in the tank truck is displaced into the tank car while the Ethanol is being transloaded. The Fumes are very strong even though it was being contained.

Posted from Android

Date: 05/28/13 18:29
Author: lowwater