Home Open Account Help 261 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Rail fanning in Texas

Date: 07/13/18 18:10
Rail fanning in Texas
Author: jmc80mac7

My son has just been stationed Randolph Air Force Base and has just earned his wings. He knows that there is a UP line that runs by the base. He would like to know how many and when trains will run on this UP line. I realize that there is not set schedule but any info that you can give to me so I can pass it on is appreciated.

Date: 07/13/18 20:31
Re: Rail fanning in Texas
Author: jointauthority

That is the UP Glidden Sub was that runs from Kirby to Houston. Very busy trains running at all hours from both UP and BNSF and also tri weekly Amtrak Sunset Limited.

Posted from iPhone

Date: 07/14/18 01:45
Author: HogheadMike

I am a UP engineer and I was sent down to San Antonio this year to work there for a manpower shortage over the winter.  Presently I am back at my normal home terminal of Pocatello, Idaho, but I can give you some relevant information.  The subdivision that runs next to Randolf AFB is the former SP Glidden sub that runs from Kirby to Houston.  Just a few miles west of this is the former north/south MKT (Katy) that is now the present day UP Austin Sub Main 2, which runs north from San Antonio to San Marcos where it splits and heads off towards Smithville and beyond.  Just a few miles west of that is the former Mopac (Missouri Pacific/Austin Sub main 1), which runs north from San Antonio Sosan Yard (just across from Kelly AFB) northboud to New Braunfels where it crosses the MKT/Austin Sub main 2, then beyond to Austin, Round Rock, Taylor (where it crosses the MKT/ UP Waco sub) and on to Hearne, TX.  The MKT line is mostly northbound directional.  There are lots of trains on the Glidden Sub next to Randolf and also a siding there by the same name.  The trains to and from Houston run on the Glidden sub, as well as the many of the southbound trains from Hearne to San Antonio.  They run south from Hear