Home Open Account Help 261 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Cal Northern In Davis

Date: 02/15/19 22:37
Cal Northern In Davis
Author: phthithu

I was at Davis at sunset when I heard the great sounds of horns out on the West Valley line coming closer. Not sure what this job is called, but it handles the interchange with the UP at Davis. After they came off the West Valley line they dropped their cars at the interchange just east of the station. I believe they tie down their power a mile or so down the West Valley line from the wye, so I drove down there looking for someplace with some light. I managed to find a parking garage that was putting some light on the tracks so I climbed up to the third floor where there was this decent angle to catch the train with a bit of light. Some folks have asked me about night photography which I am interested in so while I'm no expert I thought I would outline the process I follow. I use a Nikon D600 with a 50mm f1.8 lens. I shoot in manual, focus manually, RAW format, and then process the file with Nikon's free software Capture NX-D.