Home Open Account Help 198 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Low crossbuck in silhouette Light?

Date: 04/03/21 20:58
Low crossbuck in silhouette Light?
Author: santafe199

Oops, I think I lost a little something in translation. I guess the reignition of the infamous Low Light dual with that “Don guy” from the left coast got me a bit rattled… ;^)

In the fall of 1972 I opted to take 2 hours of Design, Drawing & Composition to start off my junior year in high school. At the time it was just a class to fill in some mandatory number of credit hours toward getting an actual diploma in May of 1973. I had NO clue how valuable this class was until I started poking my right eyeball into a Pentax view-finder, and started thinking I was a photographer in late 1976.

During that class we were taught how to use basic technique in several different art forms, including water color. What got my attention here was the ability to apply a permanent pen & ink overlay on a basic water color “background” without the ink running all over hello & creation. My first attempt was something I had seen out in the boonies as a lot younger kid. I turned in a vertical image of a basic blue, water color sky with a rural utility pole line carrying 4 wires in silhouette. Except I depicted the 3rd wire (L-R) as being severed with its end swinging gracefully down to, but not quite touching the ground. As I recall my art teacher told me it was a little simplistic, but he gave me an “A” because he liked the composition.