Home Open Account Help 207 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Switcher Saturday: Different outfit!

Date: 06/19/21 20:59
Switcher Saturday: Different outfit!
Author: santafe199

I thought I’d get out today, and make use of the lengthy daylight we have going on right now. I found some neat stuff, such as the K&O boys working an elevator out in Lincoln, KS. It was my first time ever, catching the K&O anywhere but Salina or Abilene. Unfortunately I also caught up with some hazy-lazy cloud cover in a few places. But I couldn’t argue with the subject matter! On the way out to finding my stroke of good luck at Lincoln, I shot this switcher at an elevator I used to work as a Santa Fe trainman, way back when...

BTW: I don’t guess there’s any law against posting three ‘Switcher Saturdays’ inside a 24 hour span. If there is, well... I just hafta break the law... ;^)

1. CRGX 1342 is spotting a string of hoppers at the Cargill AG Horizons elevator complex on the NW corner of Salina, KS on June 19, 2021. Back in my Santa Fe days (’78 ~ ’87) I performed duties as a switchman here a few times. It was called just plain “Bunge” back then...

Thanks for looking!
Lance Garrels
santafe199

Date: 06/19/21 23:49
Re: Switcher Saturday: Different outfit!
Author: Evan_Werkema

santafe199 Wrote:

> Back in my
> Santa Fe days (’78 ~ ’87) I performed duties
> as a switchman here a few times. It was called
> just plain “Bunge” back then...

Are those orange things fall arresters, or do they use them for "Bunge" jumping? 

Date: 06/20/21 04:36

Evan_Werkema Wrote: > ... or do they use them for "Bunge" jumping? 

They never had those monkey bars out there when I was passing hand signals, making long joints, tying handbrakes & lacing up air hoses...

Date: 06/20/21 08:41
Author: kpline

Lance,
     Did you get any pics up there in Lincoln?  Never have seen a Lincoln pic here over all the years.
Thanks,
Mike

Date: 06/20/21 09:13