Home Open Account Help 319 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > UP 1996 in SoCal Last Saturday

Date: 09/14/22 18:37
UP 1996 in SoCal Last Saturday
Author: cchan006

I guess this might be a "prequel" to SP8595's great report few days ago:

https://www.trainorders.com/discussion/read.php?1,5540418

I happened to be in SoCal last weekend to visit friends, with no real foaming plans. I had problems with Internet connection at the hotel, and chose heritageunits.com to troubleshoot it. The nearest WiFi router went down for some reason, but there was a distance router that my laptop could connect off and on.

There was a post 2 hours old, that a coal train with UP 1996 leading was departing Long Beach. My thanks go to the heritageunits.com contributors.

I was about 1.5 hours away from a possible intercept point, in the area of West Colton Yard. So I was risking  being 1.5 - 3.5 hours late to meet the train.

I've been chasing trains in SoCal for about 15 years now, with plenty of experience under my belt. So I wasn't too anxious. That meant I expected a coal train leaving Long Beach to be empties, and would eventually head to LA&SL (Cima Sub) via BNSF Cajon Sub. It could go either Los Angees Sub (join BNSF at Riverside), or Alhambra Sub (join BNSF at the Colton "Diamonds"), so I chose a logical spot where I wouldn't miss the train (if I wasn't late).

From chasing the UP 1989 many years ago, I expected trains to crawl out of Long Beach before reaching Colton, and I was right. After I arrived in the Colton area, I went to a nearby Starbucks (for WiFi), and saw an update on heritageunits.com that the train had just passed Pomona.

I went to grab a sandwich, and ate in the restaurant, confident that I was going to nab the UP 1996 after the meal.

(Video will be described in the next post)

You must be a registered subscriber to watch videos. Join Today!

Date: 09/14/22 19:01
Re: UP 1996 in SoCal Last Saturday
Author: MrChew