Home Open Account Help 379 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > the first GEVO I've seen in the PRB

Date: 05/24/04 02:32
the first GEVO I've seen in the PRB
Author: Android

Yesterday I finally saw my first GEVO out at the mine, briefly. I'd heard that BN planned to start using the GEVOs next on coal trains for the PRB but I'd not seen any yet. BNSF 5725 was the 2nd unit on a coal train that was almost loaded at North Antelope when we did our morning crew change. (I'm a contractor on-site train operator/inspector there) I only had a brief moment to look at it after I swapped with the operator from the night shift though, before the mine loudout swapped out their crew and was ready to resume loading. Then I had other things to worry about.

The lead unit, which was a 56-something AC44, was all messed up and wouldn't load. Usually though, if this sort of thing happens, the computer will still try to generate a slow speed "pacesetter" signal and send it out through the MU cable for the trailing unit(s) and they'll pick it up and do the "pacesetting" instead - in this case though, all the GEVO would do in response to this signal was to give me full effort for throttle notch instead of pacesetting along. D'oh!!! (So I had to control the speed by hand, by modulating the independant locomotive brake - good thing I only had 10 cars left to load to deal with, as this process is a pain in the butt, especially with the lead not giving any effort- I had no good "feel" for it)