Home Open Account Help 325 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Hotels near UP mainline tracks

Date: 05/30/04 07:30
Hotels near UP mainline tracks
Author: tubaman

I am traveling from Chicago to Laramie, WY this summer along the UP mainline mostly along Hwy 30. I am looking for hotels that are close enought so that I can just walk a few steps and hang out by the tracks. I also would not mind hotels (or Bed and Breakfast joints) with rooms that look out onto the tracks as well. Do any of you have suggestions where hotels like this can fit the bill? I am talking about basically every place west of Clinton, IA along old Highway 30 and into the Sherman Hill area of Wyoming. I am new to trainorders so if there is a previous thread that would answer these questions or a publication, I would like to hear about it. Some hotels (like the Best Western in Tehachapi, CA) advertise a "Train Room" but it is actually not that close to the action. Your recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks. Gene Pokorny

Date: 05/30/04 08:42
Re: Hotels near UP mainline tracks
Author: tolland

You'll probably want to stay in Cheyenne. The Days Inn looks out onto the rail tracks, has a nice spa area, and the BNSF crews stay there also. It's on West Lincolnway, just adjacent to the UP main line and the south facing rooms all give a view of the tracks. There are also several other motels nearby and several places to eat, Village Inn, Outback Steak house, and a truck stop.

Date: 05/30/04 09:37
Author: CyRail

A decent view of the tracks can be had from the Days Inn in Missouri Valley, IA. However, you can only see about half of the traffic on the E-W because its on the Blair Subdivision, with the other half using the Omaha Sub. Ask for a room on the north side of the building, preferably on the second level. Its not a great view, but its worth mentioning.

CyRail

Date: 05/30/04 12:28
Author: 3rdswitch