Home Open Account Help 186 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > need night photo help

Date: 08/27/05 22:54
need night photo help
Author: Jefflocal

I'm hoping someone can help me figure out how to get
all the lens glare or flaring or whatever it is out of
photos with bright lights. I'm a novice at night photos.
Are there filters that can help with this? Any tips would
be greatly appreciated.
Geoff

Date: 08/28/05 00:10
Re: need night photo help
Author: RustyRayls

What aperature / shutter speed are you using? Are you shooting digital or film? Using a smaller aperature with a slower shutter speed will help to keep the lights from blowing out. The aperature setting for the attached shot was f11. I just opened up the lense on bulb just before the train activated the crossing gates and left it open for an additional 3 minutes after the train passed to get the exposure on the depot. This was shot on Fuji Provia 100F. I haven't tried any night shots with my digital camera yet. I guess I should go out some night and experiment before an important shoot comes up.

Date: 08/28/05 04:49
Author: K3HX

Actually, the shot is pretty good as is. Nice angle, level, sharp. A bit

overexposed, though. (the latter being a somewhat trivial matter easy enough to correct)

I've found Kodachrome to be less likely to exhibit the "blooming" from bright

lights. Adding filters adds reflective surfaces and may make matters worse.

A lens hood may help a little and will not hurt.

Also, you may wish to invest in a Gertag-MacBeth ColorChecker panel and include it

in the frame but in a portion that can be cropped out later. This panel has a series

of calibrated color squares which can later be used to correct for the kind of

lighting used. (about $70 through B&H)

If you would like to try your hand at B&W available light photography, I can recommend

Ilford XP-2 as a good film for the purpose. A "tolerant" film with a "forgiving"