Home Open Account Help 271 users online

Steam & Excursion > Ca. Western 46 in 1975

Date: 01/17/07 08:10
Ca. Western 46 in 1975
Author: dmaffei

How did 46 end up in Campo Ca.? What was the original plan when she left N. California?
Took this on a fan trip when I was a freshman in High School.

Date: 01/17/07 09:30
Re: Ca. Western 46 in 1975
Author: samreeves

Wow Dave, you're an ancient one!

–
Sam Reeves Photography
Pacific Grove, CA

Date: 01/17/07 16:32
Author: SierraRail

Pretty sure this photo of the 46 & 45 was taken the same day.

Date: 01/17/07 17:35

SierraRail Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Pretty sure this photo of the 46 & 45 was taken
> the same day.

Yep.
I remember them double heading the two for part of the day or weekend then split the two and ran two trains. can't remember all the details of the fan trip. Thirty two years is a long time ago...

When I talked with the folks at Ca. Western on our BSA trip a couple of months ago, they said she had poor tractive effort because of her originally being a Tank engine.

Sure looked good that day back in 1975. (sounded good to!)

Nice photo. Thanks for posting.

Date: 01/17/07 17:56
Author: drew1946

I was on that trip.

Date: 01/17/07 18:25
Author: iliketrains

dmaffei Wrote:
> How did 46 end up in Campo Ca.? What was the
> original plan when she left N. California?

I asked a friend of mine, Jim Lundquist, this question. Here is his response.

Back in the 1986 time frame, the Board of the Pacific Southwest Railway Museum (San Diego, La Mesa, Campo) had a Trustee who was a professional fund raiser. He raised money for hospitals and had connections with the owner of the California Western. He said he could acquire the locomotive and get funds to restore it. I was the CEO then, and, I was familiar with the locomotive as I had ridden behind it - what a terrific engine to watch.