Home Open Account Help 313 users online

Nostalgia & History > Paducah Geeps - The Rumble And The Roar

Date: 04/14/18 04:02
Paducah Geeps - The Rumble And The Roar
Author: MaryMcPherson

A previous thread got me to thinking about the sounds of the Illinois Central / Illinois Central Gulf Paducah rebuilt GP8's, GP10's and GP11's.

I've been working recently to get my audio work in order; no small task as I started playing with tape recorders when I was ten. To date I have made 3408 recordings with a running time of 15 DAYS since I made my first recordings of Crab Orchard & Egyptian 2-8-0 #17 on July 22, 1983. Holy crap, I didn't realize it was THAT much! Thanks to the iTunes software for the stats... I think.

Back to the topic at hand, by 1989 I was making stereo recordings that hold up fairly well today. With my hometown of Carbondale, Illinois, being a point on the Illinois Central Gulf, Paducah Geeps were quite common when I was young. I didn't get as much material of them as I now wish I did, but I did get some. Here are some clips of the recordings I have been cleaning up, editing and archiving.

The sounds open on the hill between Makanda and Cobden on the Centralia District as a pair of GP8's lead southbound local #93 up the grade. This was a location I did a series of recordings at over a space of four years, as I knew the owner of the property bordering the tracks and I would camp with friends atop the cut on the east side of the railroad. I later found out this exact same location was used for a well known ICRR publicity photo taken when the orange and white image was introduced (the photo is included below).

The next audio clip is of GP10 #8049 switching at Carbondale's North Yard. While Paducah Geeps were frequently assigned, I generally didn't do a lot of sound work here; the proximity of U.S. 51 made getting clean recordings problematic at best.