Home Open Account Help 339 users online

Nostalgia & History > The McPherson Files... Summer 1990

Date: 04/08/20 08:18
The McPherson Files... Summer 1990
Author: MaryMcPherson

I graduated from high school in 1990.  In the immediate wake, I was a broke and jobless high school graduate with no real plans other than to never set foot in a classroom again.

As it turned out, I would eventually fail in that endeavor.

In the short-term however, it was fortunate that a ten-speed bike was great on gas mileage and insurance… it fit a broke and jobless budget.  The thing about growing up in a college town is that if you are not knocking on doors at the right time, all the low-wage entry-level jobs get snatched up by the college kids.  By the time I got back from the NRHS convention, the job market was zilch.  I’d go knock on doors only to be told “we’re not hiring now,” and end up trackside by mid-afternoon.

1-2. Working on a roll of K-64 from the convention trip, Amtrak 392 is followed by Norfolk Southern 124 at Carbondale.  The two trains often ran back-to-back in the afternoon.  The photos were taken on June 18th, 1990.

Mary McPherson
Dongola, IL
Diverging Clear Productions

Date: 04/08/20 08:19
Re: The McPherson Files... Summer 1990

3-4. Finishing off the black and white from the convention trip, the same pair of trains were found on another afternoon.

Mary McPherson
Dongola, IL

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/08/20 08:23 by MaryMcPherson.

Date: 04/08/20 08:20

5. On July 9th, 1990, I saw and photographed the last train to head south on the double track from Carbondale that I would ever see.  GP38-2 #9622 led a pair of SD40’s past Grand Avenue that morning, and a mast that would soon bear a signal for the South Carbondale junction can be seen to the right.