Home Open Account Help 404 users online

Nostalgia & History > Really Early AFT, Continued

Date: 01/15/21 15:47
Really Early AFT, Continued
Author: march_hare

At this point, I am totally blind, knowing only that the WM has two mainlines and I think I know which one he's going on. I have no previous local experience, no map, and only a vague sense of where the WM actually goes. But it goes up in those hills, somewhere. So when the tracks are to your left, keep turning left. When they're to your right, well, you know the drill. 

The first grade crossing I find is at first totally deserted. There's some local group of high school kids in a 1960s muscle car ( a Barracuda if I recall), driving back and forth across the grade crossing, deliberately launching the car airborne as they go flying across. On the third or fourth try, they get the timing really, really wrong and they land on the downhill side of the crossing with the nose of the car hitting the ground before the tires do. Lots of sparks, lots of noise, and suddenly the car disappears. Amusing,  but not as amusing as a steam engine...

Eventually, the train shows up and I manage to follow it north and west, into Pennsylvania ( known in the Indian languages as " the land of no freaking road signs". Within a half hour, I am utterly lost. 

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/15/21 16:01 by march_hare.

Date: 01/15/21 16:16
Re: Really Early AFT, Continued
Author: BoilingMan

The 3 cars were owned by the High Iron Co and I believe were lettered for the AFT.  The Slumbercoach (B&O?) was used as quarters for those rebuilding the 2101.  The diner was former NYC and on the rear is the Splendid Spirit (Later the Brother Two, I think)  The Spirit actually ran behind the AFT a couple times, but not the other 2.

Great (RARE) photos!
SR

Date: 01/15/21 16:40

And here we are, a few hours later, rolling into Hagerstown after some of the most bewildering back road driving I have ever engaged in. 

Date: 01/15/21 17:27