Home Open Account Help 343 users online

Nostalgia & History > Your first trip

Date: 09/30/04 13:34
Your first trip
Author: cewherry

This thread might get some interesting responses. My first student fireman's road trip was LA-Yuma, electing not to lay-over in Indio since, in Nov 1962, the Hours of Service was still at 16 and as a student I was probably not covered anyway. Fireman from LA-Indio was R R (Bob)Graves, a man then in his late 40's, gregarious and helpful. Engineer was W.J.(Bill) Douglas. Bill was off of the extra board, about 45ish and was content to nurse his cigar. 4 or 5 covered wagons, uneventful daylight trip. Relieved at Indio by fireman J.A. (Joe the Camel Driver) DeCoster and J.W. (Cowboy) Crawford. Also uneventful to Yuma. Joe did all the talking but I noticed that 'Cowboy' was strangely silent. In fact, beyond the welcoming grunt I received at Indio he said nothing. After tieing up at Yuma in the early morning, Cowboy and I were walking down the outside stairway leading from the yard office to the street below when, at the midway point, two very loud gun-shots rang out followed by a blood curdling scream. Without looking at me and without pausing Cowboy said: "It's kinda dangerous around here". We continued on to an all-night diner, had breakfast then walked to the DelSol.

Westbound out of Yuma I caught Cowboy Crawford again but fireman 'VWM' had replaced Joe DeCoster. At some point, out of VWM's earshot, Cowboy wispered to me: "This guy,(meaning VWM), is gonna want to borrow some money from you before we get to Indio. Don't do it!". Sure enough, coming through Thermal, VWM leaned over and with pleading eyes asked if I could spot him some cash since he had to buy milk for the kids on his way home. I plead poverty and that was the end of that. Thanks Cowboy!

Charlie

Date: 10/01/04 18:41
Re: Your first trip
Author: Steamjocky