Home Open Account Help 281 users online

European Railroad Discussion > Vienna (Austria) suggestions needed...

Date: 09/04/14 12:22
Vienna (Austria) suggestions needed...
Author: MirandaDepot

Could anyone offer suggestions for rail-related sights to see in Vienna? I have a city transit (Wiener Linien) pass, so any place in the city should be easy to reach (but, as a rookie, I could be wrong.) The #2 tram stops at the front of the hotel, and we are not far from the U3 subway.

I understand that there is a tram museum, and we passed a rail museum coming in from the airport on the CAT train.

As you can tell, my knowledge of Vienna is limited. Appreciate suggestions at any level.

Date: 09/04/14 13:29
Re: Vienna (Austria) suggestions needed...
Author: chs7-321

I was there twice in the past year (including last Monday).

Are you looking for just full-size stuff or models too? Passenger? Freight?

How long are you staying?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/04/14 14:13 by chs7-321.

Date: 09/04/14 22:46

Full size would be more interesting (to me) than model. We are here for 10 more days, but free time will be limited to a day or two and some evenings.

Suggestions as simple as rail related sights to see along subway lines would be helpful. The goal is orientation and familiarization, since my knowledge of the area is limited.

Date: 09/05/14 03:27
Author: birdman