Home Open Account Help 285 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Those damned steam hoses...

Date: 03/05/15 00:07
Those damned steam hoses...
Author: aronco

Someone recently posted commentary about steam hoses on passenger trains. That post reminded me of an occasion when I worked as a brakeman on a passenger special from LA to Santa Barbara about 1966 or so. This special train was operated for the LA Opera Association. The train ran out of the Mission Road coach yard right up the Eastbank main line and loaded its passengers at Glendale. The consist was two F-7s back to back, a daylight articulated coach, a Sunset Audubon bar car, another articulated coach, a Golden State bar car, another articulated coach, and Santa Fe open platform observation car 1509.
You may have concluded that (a) this was a high society group (b) they planned to do a lot of imbibing on the trip, and (c) SP was very concerned that there were no problems or embarrassment on the train.
We followed the Daylight, train 99, to Glendale. There were about 250 people on the platform as we pulled in, and in addition, there were 6 baggage trucks loaded with "beverages" and snacks for the passengers. The baggage trucks had to be unloaded into the bar cars, but within 15 minutes we were underway. I sensed that this would be a really fun trip - the party began before we cleared the platform!
By the time we approached the tunnels at Chatsworth, I had walked back thru the train to the Santa Fe observation car. The rear brakeman was an extra board man who didn't really see anything interesting about passenger trains, or high living passengers - - it was just a job to him. He went back to his racing form.