Home Open Account Help 348 users online

Railroaders' Nostalgia > Fly By Orders

Date: 01/29/21 10:22
Fly By Orders
Author: Bob3985

One day at our model railroad here in the CHeyenne Mall a gentleman asked if any of us worked for the railroad.
I said I was a retired 4th district engineer. He said small world as he started as an operator at Potter Nebraska, on the 4th district.
Then he related a story of his first day on the job and the dispatcher out of North Platte gave him orders to deliver to a westbound "City" passenger train.
So he copied the orders, repeated them and got the dispatchers initials. He then prepared his orders for the delivery sticks.
Well the "City" trains did not slow down that much and as it approached he got very nervous. The engineer hung his arm out to snag the orders and 
in the process the paniced operator loosened his grasp and the train took his order stick with them.
He did grab the conductors orders and got them delivered too but kept the hoop this time.
He ended up walking the track a ways to find the engineer's hoop laying along the right of way.

Bob Krieger
Cheyenne, WY

Date: 01/29/21 10:47
Re: Fly By Orders
Author: tomstp

Handing up orders and weigh bills could also be a problem but not as scary as the one you mentioned.   The agent in my old home town put weigh bills in a order fork to give to the conductor in his T&P caboose.  The local had finished its switching  and was moving about 15 MPH going down the passing track at the station.  The conductor  missed the middle of the fork and hit one of the legs pulling it out of the metal holder and the bills scattered on the ground.  Even tho the caboose had a radio he did not stop the train to get the weigh bills.  It was about lunch time and I imagine they were in a hurry to get to Ranger so they could eat.   But the weigh bills  were picked up by  the next days local.  The cars of course sat in Lancaster Yard in Ft Worth with no bills.  

Date: 01/30/21 08:33
Author: rob_l