Home Open Account Help 301 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Train novice looking for info

Date: 04/13/11 12:12
Train novice looking for info
Author: MattyMo

Hey Trainorders fans, I am a novice at trainspotting but would like to get in the ranks of the fans of this site - I am a volunteer fireman and consider myself an expert on antique fire engines but still limited on train engines - I am a fan of trains and know the difference between a hopper, gondola and tank car. I know what the basic SP, BN, NS, GT, CSX and UP stand for but I'm interested in the dangers to a fire company that would respond to a derailment. I am interested in knowing if there are cutaways in any books of the engines and other hazards that are common to trains other then the obvious tank car problems

Date: 04/13/11 12:29
Re: Train novice looking for info
Author: toledopatch

I suspect the main thing you have to fear from a locomotive would be the "live" electricity, especially in AC-traction units. As you may already know, locomotives use diesel engines to turn electric generators for electric power, rather than to provide direct compressive energy through a transmission.

The greatest threat for mass casualty incidents, however, are the Toxic Inhalation Hazard chemicals that some railcars carry. There are also the explosion-risk/flammable cargoes, too. But since you make reference to tank-car danger, I'll presume you're familiar with that, too.

Date: 04/13/11 15:11
Author: MattyMo

Would it be best to avoid the trucks and is there a good cutaway book showing the insides of newer trains

Date: 04/13/11 16:13
Author: SOO6617

Stay out of the main electrical cabinets where the inverters are located on modern AC Drive locomotives, there are capacitors that will hold a full charge which is more than enough to kill. Only a properly trained Railroad Electrician should attempt to discharge them.

Date: 04/13/11 18:53
Author: mkostecky

MattyMo Wrote: