Home Open Account Help 308 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Any SD80Mac news or sightings recently?

Date: 12/11/12 06:44
Any SD80Mac news or sightings recently?
Author: tiderail

Has anyone seen an SD80MAC in service lately? If so, where are they working?

Date: 12/11/12 07:15
Re: Any SD80Mac news or sightings recently?
Author: mully

One of the NS units made it into Harrisonburg Va on a grain train a couple of weeks ago. Very rare to see one there

Gary

Date: 12/11/12 09:24
Author: CR6444

All of the CSXT SD80MAC's are in storage either in Waycross and Cumberland..

CR

Date: 12/11/12 10:21
Author: CSXMAC

Some of CSX's are also stored in Florida.

Troy

Date: 12/11/12 10:23
Author: CR6444

CSXMAC Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Some of CSX's are also stored in Florida.
>
> Troy

Nothing is stored in Florida... (I checked everywhere as I am a FL resident) Its all in Waycross, GA and half in Cumberland.. The 4595(I believe) was recently scrapped in Cumberland due to an rollover incident at Pope's Creek.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/11/12 10:26 by CR6444.

Date: 12/11/12 11:50
Author: kenfl9

If all the CSX SD80Mac's are in storage, then what was the 4591 doing as the second unit on the UP's ZAILC intermodal train at Fort Worth, TX on Saturday?

Ken Fitzgerald

Date: 12/11/12 12:53
Author: strench707

4590 and 4591 are still active. 4592-4593 and 4595-4602 are all stored. 4594 has been stored and slowly picked apart at the Huntington, WV shops. Not 4595, and its not "scrapped" (yet).

Davis

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/11/12 12:55 by strench707.

Date: 12/11/12 14:06
Author: pafan

So what exactly is it with the 80MACs? NS still runs their units, while CSX seemns to be preparing to get rid off theirs.

Are they in poor condition?

Date: 12/11/12 14:26