Home Open Account Help 286 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Interesting Move at the PA. Trolley Museum

Date: 08/08/19 05:06
Interesting Move at the PA. Trolley Museum
Author: jmbreitigan

I volunteer at the Pennsylvania Trolley Museum (PTM) ( https://pa-trolley.org/ ) as a motorman. I operate the trolleys there. I have been doing this for about 2 years, so by no means do I know it all. I enjoy it and they are looking for help in any way. Car shop, track & signal, operators to name a few. Anyway back in the 70's the museum acquired 3 reefers. All Swift Refrigerator Line cars.  One of them, SRLX15405 with a build date of 5-54 used brine tanks. The other two where converted to compressor types for cooling. I heard that SRLX15405 was going to be acquired by the Age of Steam Roundhouse in Sugarcreek Ohio. Word was that the Ohio Central RR (OHCR) was going to pick the car up. I live close by so Sunday evening (7-28-19) I went over to take a few pictures of car SRLX15405 before it left. I came back Wednesday (7-31-19) for the pickup of the car. And that proved to be the day. The  sun was kind of high and I did my best to take decent pictures as this was something I wanted to record. So on with the pictures. There are 17 pictures. For continuity I thought it best to keep it as one post.

1. Old Swift Refrigerator Line meat car, SRLX15405. Build date 5-54. Acquired by the PA Trolley museum in the 70"s. This car had brine tanks. The thin rod on the end of the car opens the dump valve. You can see the ninety degree drain line at the center of the rear truck. It is going to the Age of Steam Roundhouse in Sugarcreek, Ohio.  7-28-19

2. Baldwin-Westinghouse locomotive B73. Behind are the other two reefers that may be scrapped.   7-28-19

3. Baldwin-Westinghouse locomotive B73 info.   7-27-19

More photos........

Date: 08/08/19 05:11
Re: Interesting Move at the PA. Trolley Museum