Home Open Account Help 254 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Railfanning around Austell, starting at the Howell wye in Atlanta

Date: 02/23/24 14:43
Railfanning around Austell, starting at the Howell wye in Atlanta
Author: dadonatrain

I’m just a newbie railfan. I watch cams and sometimes take short trips to see trains up close and in person, which I’m doing this weekend. I had a great first day. I actually found one spot along one street where I could watch trains go by in the Howell wye, which was one of my dream objectives, since so much is written that it’s almost impossible to see any of it without a drone. I caught nine or ten in less than an hour from the same spot along the street.

Then, as I meandered toward Austell I got lucky and caught the NS “brick” rail inspection cars on a siding at CP Jacmac. Definitely a first for me. Got a decent video of it too.

I know I sound like a little kid (trust me, I’m not) but I admit I’m excited. I live along a very lightly trafficked stretch of the NS so seeing 20 trains in five hours is very special for me. If you’ve made it this far in this silly old man’s post, thx for letting me post it.

Posted from iPhone

Date: 02/23/24 18:19
Re: Railfanning around Austell, starting at the Howell wye in Atl
Author: march_hare

If you're not getting some of the "little kid " thrill from watching passing trains, you're doing something wrong. Don't let anybody put you down, this is a good place to learn about all that surrounds you. 

Date: 02/23/24 18:57
Author: MattW

I'm glad you had a good time here! I'm curious where you parked, your description doesn't ring a lot of bells except Jefferson St which is just south of Howell, but it is a good spot both for volume of trains and lighting.

Date: 02/24/24 08:27

MattW,