Home Open Account Help 230 users online

Model Railroading >

Date: 07/29/09 21:24

Author: spsd45x

Hello,
I’ve been a long time informational leech but this is my first (or maybe second) post.

I was hoping someone could help me. I’ve got a few of the SP bulkhead flats from Bruce’s Trains made by a guy in Nevada. The paint on them is a bit thick so I’d prefer to repaint and redecal the cars after a bit of detailing. Has anyone had any experience with these cars? I was thinking 99% isopropyl alcohol or Chameleon stripper but I don’t want to damage the resin. Any help would be appreciated.

Since this is my first real post I thought I'd leave a quick note about me, I’m a prototype modeler, SP, ATSF, UP. Era: 1975-1995. Southern California area (I grew up on the Burbank Branch). Currently on my workbench you’d find a SP SD39 & U33C, an OMI ATSF MK1200G, and a bunch of other misc freight car projects.

Thank you all,
Peter
Portland, OR

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/29/09 21:29 by spsd45x.

Date: 07/29/09 21:37

Author: tracktime

Nice stuff Peter. For the Bruce's Train Shop Bulkhead flat, I'd suggest maybe media-blasting that model. I did that to an undec version of his model without any ill effects. Now.. let's see more of that SD39!

Best Regards,
Harry

Date: 07/29/09 22:21

Author: RAS

I second the grit blast option. I stripped one of the Thrall bulkhead cars they did in TT yellow, and it worked fine. Like your SP car, the "factory" paint was not so good....

-Rick

Rick Selby
Redmond, WA
Pacific Northwest RPM

Date: 07/29/09 23:11

Hey Harry & Rick,
Thanx for the quick replies. It just so happens that I purchased a mini-blaster from Harbor Freight a few months back, haven’t even unpacked it yet, nor have I ever used one. I guess it’s time to learn. I'll do some searching on TO, maybe someone has posted some How To's.