Home Open Account Help 330 users online

Model Railroading > Helix Help

Date: 10/25/09 04:42
Helix Help
Author: ontrail

I am hoping on building a helix however I have never done that before, anyone here have some tips? I would be really interested if anyone knows a website that can help me design one. I have no idea about Radius; I’m going with 30" inside track and 36" outside track. Can I go smaller?
Thanks

Date: 10/25/09 06:41
Re: Helix Help
Author: rschonfelder

Look at Bruce Freidman's listing a few down where he is talking about the laser level. He has some photo's which should give you good insight. Also, look at Blair's (jackpot)Blog "northofNarrobri.com". He has some good photos and narrative. Beware though as Blair's is a helix on an Australian layout so it goes the other way around when you send it down. ;~)

My advice is get good tools as you will never get the precision you require cutting wood manually. I recommend having access to a quality drop saw to cut all risers uniform and square. If one has access to a CNC cutter it is ideal for cutting the plywood into circles, however, good quality jigsaw will work too. Do not use cheap plywood and do not scrimp on the thickness. Personally, I would go with 17mm thick ply but people always tell me I "over engineer" (I consider that a compliment).

Also, when it comes to trying to save money, you can do it by making the helix tight (less track). This will also save space, however, my warning is do not do it. Try to go for a minimum of 30" radius but I would design my layout with a larger 36" radius as a minimum. Blair's Narrobri layout will be running shorter trains and no passenger cars whereas you might not so his is tighter it looks like.