Home Open Account Help 330 users online

Model Railroading > Digitrax DCC problem

Date: 12/16/12 17:44
Digitrax DCC problem
Author: johns

I have a larger layout, a double main around the basement, each about 128 ft in length. Because of the size, I've added a booster (DB150) to my command station, a DCS100. I've been operating in this fashion for about 2 yrs without any problems. Throttle is a DT400 which is tethered.

Today I was testing an engine that had just been repaired and had something happen that I can't figure out. On the side of the layout controlled by the DCS100, the engine runs fine but when I hit the gaped rails into track work handled by the booster, there is a noticeable speed increase. I've powered down the system a few times and this continues to happen. I then checked voltage to the rails using an older analog multimeter. On the section powered by the command station, it reads 15 volts. On the side covered by the DB150, it reads 16 volts or just a little less. As we know, output of this equipment should be 15 volts max.

I was wondering if too few track feeders might play into this? I tend to lay track but haven't kept up, so far, with feeders off the bus wires, especially on the side covered by the booster. I did just finish laying about 15 ft of track on the side handled by the booster.

I've also made sure that I haven't left anything on the rails that would cause a short.

I hope someone has a solution.

john

Date: 12/16/12 18:42
Re: Digitrax DCC problem
Author: sou2601