Home Open Account Help 324 users online

Model Railroading > How to paint an Overland Brass Diesel

Date: 09/09/14 22:19
How to paint an Overland Brass Diesel
Author: georgiaroad

I am a pretty experienced custom painter when it comes to plastic locomotives and rolling stock, but I have yet to attempt finishing an undecorated brass model. I got a deal on some Overland undecorated SOU SD24s and bay cabooses a year or so back, and I would like to paint these for my freelanced Georgia Road. These have never been out of the box, still wrapped and sealed until I got them. I have read about pickling them in vinegar, baking on the finish after painting and a laundry list of other "dos and don'ts" but all my Google searches only find steam projects or vague postings that do not tell the whole story. I would rather not learn by trial and error. The models are too expensive and my time for modeling and painting is limited. I seem to remember an MR article in the 1990s that gave a step by step process, but I cannot remember when exactly it was published.

Are there any experienced modelers out there willing to give me a general step by step as to how to prepare the locomotives and paint them? I use a cheaper Paasche single action external mix airbrush due to ease of cleaning and the fact that I can replace it with a new one if it starts having issues. The paint scheme is two color Cornell Red and Weathered Black, with a Platinum Mist undercarriage. I make it a point to prime my models also.

These are the Flat Top Mountain units I mentioned in a recent post. It is time to bring the models to a finished form.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

H in AL

Date: 09/09/14 23:13
Re: How to paint an Overland Brass Diesel
Author: fbe