Home Open Account Help 347 users online

Model Railroading > Brass Steam Locomotive

Date: 01/29/15 16:31
Brass Steam Locomotive
Author: Grommet

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting here so please bear with me.

I've been thinking of buying a brass locomotive and so I've been searching the web for new and used imported brass locos. Since I don't own any, I have questions about the pros and cons of buying brass. My questions will obviously seem basic and naive but some locos are rather expensive as everyone knows. So here goes.

Is it a good or bad idea to buy an unpainted loco and try painting it myself?

I've noticed that many imported brass use open-frame motors. I don't know if these are good or bad motors and if bad, should they be replaced with new can motors?

Some reviews of brass locos state that the engine is noisy or runs poorly. Are these something to stay away from?

Some locos are equipped with operating lights. Is it a difficult task to add?

How about a sound decoder?

If something is not right or goes wrong with the loco, are they difficult or expensive to fix?

I know and understand that what I'm asking is rather difficult to answer but perhaps the basic question is: are brass locomotives a good purchase or should I stay away?

Thanks,

George Corral
La Grange, KY

Date: 01/29/15 17:15
Re: Brass Steam Locomotive
Author: fbe

Brass locomotives are a whole new facet of the hobby. There are some quality brands like PFM, NWSL, OMI, Precision Scale and a few others. There are others who's reputation and quality are not so high.

Engines with open frame motors are probably more than 20 years old but can still be good runners. Medium size models from this vintage sell at swap meets for $300 or less.

If you are not a pretty good mechanic then installing DCC sound, lighting or paint is something which is going to require quite a bit of assistance.