Home Open Account Help 358 users online

Model Railroading > Smokey Valley Handrails

Date: 12/27/00 16:31
Smokey Valley Handrails
Author: rwhamm

Evening,

I noticed that Smokey Valley offers handrail replacements for the Mantua (Tyco) or just Mantua GP20. Do you have to "form" the wire for the "railing" and if so how is this done, I am rather new to the hobby somewhat. Also sent and email and attempted to call Mantua about getting some replacement handrails but have had no luck contacting them. Any body have a suggestion to make it easier to contact them? By the way I am Mountain Time where as they are Eastern Time.

Thanks,
Raymond W. Hamm
rwhamm@micron.net

Date: 12/27/00 17:05
RE: Smokey Valley Handrails
Author: CSX_CO

You must form your own wire handrails as the wire provided for the handrails is *lacking*. Detail Associates .015" wire is great for this application. This length of the wire doesn't get in your way as you try and bend it, but it's long enough to do most handrails (I did a SD80MAC handrail, and it was long enough for the bends on the Conductors side)

I have no trouble bending my own handrails, but I know many people who find this difficult.

One trick that I use, is to take the previous handrail (if the stanction arrangement matches) and use it as a guide to bend a hand rail. Or, use portions of a handrail for more difficult bends. The end bends on a EMD unit are tough, but made easier with a Athearn handrail as a guide.

Place the wire next to the plastic (or stock) handrail. Using locking tweezers (I use surgical forceps a EMT Cousin gave me) I lock the handrails together at a bend, and then form the wire to match the stock handrail. I then repeat for each bend, until I have a matching handrail. Not only do you get bends that are "crisp" and "clean" (using the tweezers to bend the wire on) but also in the correct location.