Home Open Account Help 321 users online

Model Railroading > Hump yard models (?)

Date: 04/19/01 21:00
Hump yard models (?)
Author: geoangel

Hi guys,

I'm new to the world of model trains somewhat. I have about 80% of what I need to build a layout,except it all in boxes. LOTS of money spent over the years and waiting for a place to build it.
Well anyway,my question. Has anyone thought about or successfully built a working hump yard on their model railroad? It would seem to me impossible,but with technology today,determination,and with an excellent knowledge of modelling,is it possible?

Thanks for you comments,
George,
Fontana,Cal.

Date: 04/20/01 00:18
RE: Hump yard models (?)
Author: spf

Hi, I have never built a hump yard myself, but recently fiddled with the one at the HO club in Pomona (Pomona Valley Model RR) right accross from the depot. I just stopped by to visit and was intrigued by the hump yard and when I asked if it worked, they let me borrow a loco and some cars to test it out. What they did was install an uncoupling magnet at the top of the hump (two magnets actually) that would allow you to automatically uncouple the cars at the crest. As long as the car's couples were in good shape, it worked. The only problem was that with free rolling equipment the cars really got going and had to be slowed by hand to keep from going all the way down the track.

They mentioned that they formerly had some sort of bristle to retard them, but that someone took it out. Perhaps if you built it a little shorter (not as tall so cars don't get as much momentum and velocity) this would be minimized, or if you can develop some sort of retardation system that would be even better. The only problem with something slowing the cars is all the cars roll at different levels of ease, and sometimes the track you are rolling the cars into is empty, or has room for just one more.