Home Open Account Help 254 users online

Model Railroading > State Sales Taxes on Out of State Customers

Date: 07/16/02 16:29
State Sales Taxes on Out of State Customers
Author: JimHardman

I just took delivery by UPS today of a few MTH hopper cars that I purchased from a store in Virginia. I am from Pennsylvania. When I opened the box and looked at the invoice, low and behold the store in Virginia charged me $8.53 for Virginia state sales tax. Is this something new for VA? The purchase was made by phone not by E-mail. Does anyone know anything about this practice? I have contacted the store and I am waiting for them to return my call.

Jim

Date: 07/16/02 17:45
Re: State Sales Taxes on Out of State Customers
Author: BCM

As a Virginia resident, I can tell you that merchant made a mistake. He owes you a refund on those charged taxes...

If he fails to refund it, be sure to post the store name here so that others may avoid it...

- BCM

Date: 07/16/02 20:02
Author: WrongWayMurphy

There has been a furor over states wanting to
charge tax for out-of-state purchases, mainly due to internet sales robbing local retailers of sales and hence tax revenue. I have heard that a few states are actually requiring merchants to collect taxes from out of state buyers, and they are being contested, but I cannot remember what states they were.

Date: 07/16/02 20:29
Author: wheel

Buying in Calif. requires sales tax for most adjacent states except Oregon, which has no state sales tax..

Date: 07/17/02 01:26

Thanks everyone. I have contacted the store and I am awaiting their reply.