Home Open Account Help 380 users online

Model Railroading > Airbrush purchase for painting o scale trains

Date: 12/14/18 14:05
Airbrush purchase for painting o scale trains
Author: MopacMan

My no-frills airbrush has failed me for the last time.  Any recommendatons on an airbrush brand and/or type to purchase?  What about a compressor?

Date: 12/14/18 14:28
Re: Airbrush purchase for painting o scale trains
Author: elu34ch

Search this website. This question has been bantered about frequently over the years. 

Date: 12/14/18 14:33
Author: superchief73

I know a professional brass painter that uses the Paasche Single Action with the #3 tip. I use the same and love this set. 

Javier Cervantes
Castle Rock , CO

Date: 12/14/18 15:35
Author: BNModeler

Ive been using the same Paasche VL for over 25 years.

Date: 12/15/18 01:42
Author: Lighter

Badger, Iwata and Paasche are most used by modelers.   Keep in mind that modelers are a minor part of the business for these companies.  All three are durable but have good repair services and parts availability.  Specific brands are a matter of religion for many folks which you will see in this thread.  Each of these three has a lot of different models and price points.  Because you are painting O scale your needs are different from those of us painting in HO.  A bit of time on the websites of these three will help sort out what is most useful in each line and then you can cross compare.  A solid mailorder supplier is Dixie Art and Airbrush.  Dixie also carries parts.

Compressor - that depends on so many things it's hard for me to recommend.  Mine is an elderly Craftsman cheapie tank compressor that sits under my desk in the family room.  I've carefully thread taped all connections and don't have surprise recharges if I forget to kill power.  My family has no issues with the occasional noise, but your family may differ!

Date: 12/15/18 05:45
Author: jburek