Home Open Account Help 390 users online

Model Railroading > ST SD40T-2 – Inside the Beast – Phase 6 - “Conduit”

Date: 06/02/19 23:49
ST SD40T-2 – Inside the Beast – Phase 6 - “Conduit”
Author: tmotor

(This is Phase 6 of this project.  The earlier 5 Phases were posted in previous weeks.)

In the lower right corner of the front wall, two conduits enter to provide power for the fans.  They run horizontal along the floor, and then make a 90 for a vertical run to meet a fan motor.  When viewing the prototype trackside, the vertical conduit is easily mistaken for the silhouette of a handrail stanchion, which is why for many years I had no idea the conduit run existed.  Since I didn’t even know they were there, should the conduit be modeled, or not?

Since I’m a Licensed Electrical Contractor, you can probably guess I chose to model the conduit runs.  Even though it will complicate the install, somehow I just couldn’t leave out the conduit.   After all of conduit I have bent and installed in my day, if there is a chance for me to install conduit on my own T-Motor, it’s going to happen!