Home Open Account Help 352 users online

Model Railroading > What background work goes into building a large layout...2019 PC

Pages:  [ 1 ][ 2 ] [ Next ]
Current Page:1 of 2

Date: 08/03/19 07:46
What background work goes into building a large layout...2019 PC
Author: navarch2

I thought I'd share something with everyone. 

If you don;t already know this, I am a naval architect who designs oceangoing tugs and barges. So naturally in building a large layout like the 2019 Penn Central, I do tend to "design" things more than some might, and I use CAD to do that. 

We are now tackling the under-layout staging and I have designed the helix table, and the pine structures that emanate from the bottom of the helox and spread out under the railroad to support the staging yard. 
The staging yard tracks can hold 302 50 foot cars and that does not count the space on the running tracks or reverse loop. If I add 1 runner and the reverse loop, the capacity added is another 140 cars.  So, making all that fit in the envelope it needs to takes some engineering.
I also have to go back now and retrofit the planned access holes into the Helix table from below. (the helix is to be encircled by a backdrop all around) and given scenery work will begin on that peninsula,  it is time to button up the helix and.access it to add feeders, solder rail joints, etc .

So part of that is to cut the access holes into it from beneath. Not to worry....there is a plan.....in fact there is actually a detailed plan for the entire staging structure. Here are a few examples of the drawing work that went into planning it.  Not everyone needs such things done beforehand - but being the engineer I am, I do so out of habit.  So here are a few images for the first phase of the staging yard install....

Picture 1 - The overall staging yard arrangement plan and track polarity plan, showing the general routing of things from the helix, down to the return loop, and the tracks in between.