Home Open Account Help 362 users online

Model Railroading > The Latest BLI RF-16s - not a good experience; deep concerns

Date: 11/18/19 11:39
The Latest BLI RF-16s - not a good experience; deep concerns
Author: TBTCarl

To All,I usually refrain from this type of post, but I felt this was too critical to ignore. I preordered two of the latest RF-16s in D&H (they only had two of them, 1205, and 1216). At first they seemed to run okay, then I noticed 1205 started to jerk at startup. Well, in some cases a break-in period is needed; after test running it for about 20 minutes, the unit created a short circuit. I reported this to the vendor and exchanged it for another 1205. Well this one ran okay, but was slower than 1216; I ran it a bit, then speed matched the pair and ran them in consist pulling a 20 car train. About 15 minutes in the replacement 1205 shorted out! Okay something is afoot here (background on me, have over 100 DCC locos, I'm an electronics professional and DCC installer since 2000). So I decided to check the motor and found the motor to draw over 250mA at low voltage, and over 1.5 AMP at max (I found another thread that discovered this). After test running the motor forward and reverse, and a couple of drops of lube on the bearings, it was better but not great. I contacted BLI this time and had them replace the DCC decoder. Well, I received the decoder and discovered it was the one for the PRR loco (different horns); not a REAL big deal, but since it arrived, I placed the decoder in the loco and set it up, etc. Upon trying the unit; i found the truck side frames were scraping the wheels (built-in brakes?) and was causing some of the slight jerking (this was happening with both units). As I continued to test both units, 1216 started to slow down and act like the first 1205! I disconnected the motor and tested it only to find it started drawing excessive current. BTW, a good version of this motor draws only 8 mA at 10V, no load. While testing 1205 another